And the demo begins….

On your mark, get set………..GO!

That is pretty much how the kitchen remodel began. After the few little tweaks we made the kitchen didn’t look half bad. We put cream peel & stick floor tile down, painted the walls and added a few pictures.

And not that you want to remember what it looked like before, but here it is anyway.

Despite the nice little fix, it didn’t feel like the kitchen of my dreams. I literally begged and pleaded with Michael to gut the kitchen. Everyday I would show him 100’s of kitchen pictures. Google and I became BFF’s during my kitchen research extravaganza. I would eat, sleep and breath kitchen renovation ideas. Then one day Michael was finally on board! WHOO-HOOOO!

Equipped with a limited amount of DIY skills, a modest budget and HUGE dreams, the demo began.

And just like that, the first cabinet was down!

Demo was pretty easy but very messy!

Before we knew it, the kitchen was empty.

Now if you know me at all, you know I have very specific (usually expensive) taste. I want what I want and there is little room for compromise. I will save and work my tail off to make things happen though. I just had to have ceramic tile in the kitchen. I know what you’re thinking, “What’s so bad about ceramic tile?” and the answer is nothing if you live in a home with a solid sub-floor. Unfortunately ours had a weak spot by the old dishwasher from a previous leak before we bought the house. The tile I wanted to put down would not last on a week floor. *sigh* what’s a girl to do? Call up Ol’ Dad, thats what. He told us we needed to take the floor down to the studs and redo everything. Sounded easy enough. NOT! This was by far the worst project I’ve ever done in my life, hands down! It was dirty and time consuming and a PAININTHEBUTT! Good thing I took a million pictures. I would never want to forget this moment in our life.

Yes, that is me in the green flannel shirt. Michael would use the saw to cut from upstairs and I would stand in the basement and guide him along the trusses. The dust was out of this world.

I honestly don’t remember how long it took to finish. We would work several nights in a row and then take a week off. I think it may have taken a couple months to get it completely done.

Yep, thats our basement. And this gives you and idea or the obstacles in our way of cutting. The nice floor supports and a few random wires.

There was nothing to describe the feeling of accomplishment when we actually started laying the new sub-floor.

I can’t decide which looks better, the floor or the handsome husband…. Yeah, I’ll go with the husband. Then one day, we finally had a real floor again!

She don’t look like much now, but you just wait!!

XOXO,

Erin

This entry was posted in House. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

